常见问题

牙套

传统牙套

传统牙套

自正畸开始作为一种职业以来,就一直在使用传统牙套。传统牙套至今仍在使用是有原因的。因为传统牙套可靠、可预测,并且能够非常有效地移动牙齿。

我们使用的牙套是目前市面上最小的牙套,佩戴非常舒适和独立。牙套为美国制造,材料为医用级不锈钢。正畸医师使用技能、知识和临床判断,通过施加移动牙齿所需的特定力道来激活牙套,同时确保不会造成任何伤害。移动牙齿有一个最佳的生物速度,因为如果试图加快治疗而施加过度力道,则可能会产生导致牙根缩短或骨质丢失的负面后果的风险。

金牙套

金牙套

金色的牙套具有传统牙套具备的所有优点和特性,适合那些希望与众不同的人士。

这类牙套近期刚刚面世,肯定吸引了不少人的注意。这种牙套由氧化锆制成,表面呈香槟色。抛开其新奇度不说,与传统的不锈钢牙套相比,这些牙套的色调更柔和也更美观,与传统不锈钢牙套相比,这种牙套能够与天然牙齿的颜色更好地融合到一起。

透明牙套

透明牙套

对于希望在整个治疗过程中更注重外观的人士起来说,这种牙套是基于审美考虑的选择。这种牙套深受成年患者的欢迎。

我们使用的透明牙套是市面上最美观的牙套之一,由单晶蓝宝石制成,不管牙色如何,始终与天然牙釉质融为一体。越来越多的成年人开始寻求正畸治疗,这在一定程度上是因为可以选择一些美观的正畸方案来进行治疗。

彩色牙套

牙套上加入多种颜色

如果您愿意,您的牙套可以用彩色的小橡皮筋(模块)进行“装饰”,把金属丝固定到合适的位置。

这些模块有无数种颜色组合,可以在每次预约(每 6 至 8 周)时更换,让患者享受无穷乐趣。或者如果更喜欢没有痕迹的外观,则不必选择颜色。

隐适美隐形牙套

隐适美隐形牙套

这是一种非常美观的方案,能够以几乎隐形的方式移动牙齿。该正畸治疗方法无需使用牙套或金属丝。

隐适美是一系列定制的透明可拆卸矫正器(就像非常薄的护牙托),Meyer 博士使用它精心规划了每颗牙齿的移动。每一到两周更换一次矫正器。每更换一次矫正器,牙齿都会逐渐向其预期位置靠拢。

对于那些希望矫正牙齿、矫正咬合,但又不想让人看到自己带牙套的人士来说,隐适美是很好的选择。

隐适美另一个优点是,由于矫正器是可拆卸的,因此在治疗期间护理牙齿很方便。患者在进食、刷牙和使用牙线时都可以取出矫正器,因此保持良好的口腔卫生比使用普通牙套容易得多。

早期治疗

早期治疗

正畸治疗的时机对取得成功结果至关重要,通常和实际治疗本身一样重要。

不是每个正畸问题都应该或需要早期治疗,但仔细评估非常重要,这样才能决定是否需要进行早期干预,或者是最好等到所有恒牙都萌出后再开始正畸治疗。

有时,不仅要等到所有的恒牙全部萌出,还要等待所有恒牙生长都已停止或减慢才能考虑正畸治疗,这一点非常重要。

这就是为什么我们鼓励 首次正畸咨询的年龄为 8~9 岁左右. 如果当时不需要治疗,则会安排孩子进入相应的复查时间表,以便能够仔细监测牙齿生长和发育。这样,就能够为该个体安排在最佳时间段进行正畸干预(如有必要)。这些复查预约是不收费的,不管为每位孩子进行复查的次数有多频繁。

早期治疗不一定会免除进一步治疗的需求,但它旨在降低任何未来治疗的复杂性,并且有时能够避免拔除恒牙。然而,在偶尔的情况下,个体可能只需要早期治疗就能够发展为功能性良好且赏心悦目的微笑。每个孩子都非常不同,没有任何两例病例是一样的。

早期正畸治疗包括牙齿间隙管理(牙列拥挤或间隙过大),矫治前突牙齿,处理反颌、反牙合和异位牙或阻生牙。矫正这些问题使用的器具包括可拆卸牙板、固定扩弓器,或者有时仅在需要矫正的几颗牙齿上安装牙套。

我们将对每一个儿童作为单独个体进行评估,制订一个精心构建的治疗计划,并将最佳长期结果铭记于心。当我们相信这样做的好处会真正对患者的整体治疗产生影响时,我们才会进行早期治疗。

Common Problems

Braces

Classic Braces

Classic Braces

These have been used since the inception of orthodontics as a profession. There is a reason why they are still used today – they are reliable, predictable and work very efficiently to move teeth.

The braces we use are one of the smallest available which make them very comfortable and discrete. They are made in America with medical-grade stainless steel. Orthodontists use skill, knowledge and clinical judgment to activate the braces by applying the specific force needed to move teeth while ensuring no harm is done. There is an optimum biological speed for moving teeth as excessive force in an attempt to speed up treatment may run the risk of negative consequences resulting in root shortening or bone loss.

Gold Braces

Gold Braces

Gold-coloured braces have all the advantages and properties of the traditional braces and are for people who would like something a little different.

These braces have only become available recently, and certainly turn heads. They are made of zirconia and have a champagne coloured finish. Novelty aside, the shade of these braces gives a soft, more aesthetic option which blends in far better with the natural tooth colour when compared to traditional stainless steel braces.

Clear Braces

Clear Braces

This is an aesthetic option for those who wish to have a more discreet look throughout treatment. These braces are popular with our adult patients.

The clear braces that we use are known to be one of the most aesthetic available and are made of monocrystalline sapphire which blends in with the natural tooth enamel, regardless of shade. More adults are seeking orthodontic treatment then ever before, and part of this is because there are some excellent aesthetic options to carry out treatment.

Colour Braces

Colours on Braces

If you wish, your braces can be ‘decorated’ with small coloured elastic bands (modules) which hold the wire in position.

These modules have countless colour combinations which can be changed at each appointment (every 6 to 8 weeks) – our patients have a lot of fun with this. Alternatively, a colour does not have to be chosen if a more subtle look is preferred.

Invisalign

Invisalign

This is a very aesthetic option and is an almost invisible way to move teeth. There are no braces or wires involved with this method of orthodontic treatment.

Invisalign is a customised series of clear, removable aligners (like very thin mouthguards) whereby the movement of each tooth is planned carefully by Dr Meyer. Aligners are changed every one to two weeks. With each change of an aligner, the teeth move gradually closer to their desired position.

This is a great option for people who wish to have their teeth straightened and bite corrected but without having to have the appearance of having braces.

Another advantage of Invisalign is that as the aligners are removable, it is easy to care for your teeth during treatment. The aligners are taken out when eating, brushing and flossing so maintaining good oral hygiene is much easier than with normal braces.

Early Treatment

Early Treatment

The timing of orthodontic treatment is vitally important to a successful result – it is often as important as the actual treatment itself.

Not every orthodontic issue should or needs to be treated early, but it is important for it to be assessed carefully so a decision can be made as to whether early intervention is necessary, or whether it is best to wait until all the adult teeth come through before commencing orthodontic treatment.

Sometimes it is important to not only wait for all the adult teeth to come through, but to also wait until all growth has ceased or slowed before considering orthodontic treatment. Everyone is different.

This is why we encourage the first orthodontic consultation to be at around the age of 8 to 9. If no treatment is required at the time, then the child is placed on an appropriate review schedule so that growth and dental development can be monitored carefully. In this way, any orthodontic intervention (if required) can be timed to begin at the optimal period for that individual. There is no fee for these review appointments, no matter how frequently we deem it important to see each child.

Early treatment does not necessarily eliminate the need for further treatment, but it aims to reduce the complexity of any future treatment and can sometimes avoid the need to extract adult teeth down the track. However occasionally, an early phase of treatment may be all that individual will ever require to develop a functional and aesthetic smile. Each child is very different and no case is the same.

Early orthodontic treatment includes dealing with the management of space (crowding or spacing), correcting protruded teeth, dealing with underbites, crossbites and ectopic or impacted teeth. Appliances used for correcting these problems range from removable plates, fixed expanders or sometimes having braces on just a few teeth which need correcting.

We will assess each child as an individual and form a carefully constructed treatment plan with the best long-term outcome in mind. We will only undertake early treatment if we believe the benefits of this will truly make a difference to the overall treatment of the patient.