什么是正畸

正畸是牙科学的一个专业分支,正畸涉及矫正牙齿、矫正咬合和调整颌骨。人们进行正畸治疗的目的主要基于两个原因:

什么是正畸医师?

正畸医师是接受过大学硕士研究生培养,成为正畸领域专家的牙科医师。正畸医师拥有普通牙科学位和专业正畸学位。正畸医师不从事全科牙医工作,他们的所有工作就是正畸。

要成为一名 正畸医师, 首先必须读完 5 年牙科,成为一名牙医。然后必须任职全科牙医至少 3 年,然后才能申请进入大学就读,参加 3 年全日制正畸课程学习。 每所大学每年只有 2 至 4 个这样的机会,因此入学竞争非常激烈。这一学位本身是临床培训和形成论文成果研究的组合。

Anna Meyer 博士获奖的研究论文是关于拔除牙齿对微笑美学的影响。这一研究成果此后分成两部分论文,刊发在世界知名的《美国正畸与牙面畸形矫正》杂志上。

正畸医师简介

诊所简介

我们是一家高档牙科诊所,当您走进诊所大门那一刻,我们就已经知道您是谁。我们的正畸医师亲自进行所有正畸治疗,而不会把这些治疗任务委托给辅助工作人员或助手。

正畸学是一门艺术,也是一门科学。我们相信,完全由一个人实施治疗,有助于让患者获得最佳和最有效的结果。我们相信,在每次预约时,这种个体的关注都会为每位患者带来应有的关注。

我们紧跟最新的正畸研究和正畸技术,同时也尊重经得起时间和学术批评考验的治疗方法。这意味着我们的患者接受的治疗是基于可靠的证据。

 

最新正畸技术

我们对正畸的数字化和技术进步充满热情,这些进步使我们的患者能够收获更高的精确度、效率和舒适度,同时还让我们能够保留正畸的传统艺术范畴,以达到最佳的美学效果。

为此,我们为诊所配备了最先进的数字 x 光技术和 3D 数字扫描。3D 数字扫描取代了传统的印模获取(取模具和制作石膏模型)方法,用于治疗计划和制作器具。这样不仅可以获得更精确的结果,让患者感觉舒适,同时还可以减少制作器具所需的预约次数。

我们认识到,不断进步的技术不能取代坚持合理的临床正畸原则,这些原则经受住了时间的考验。技术只是一种宝贵的工具,这种工具可以让专家根据每名患者的具体情况单独定制治疗方案。

What is Orthodontics?

Orthodontics is a specialist branch of dentistry which deals with straightening teeth, correcting bites and aligning the jaws. People seek orthodontic treatment primarily for two reasons:

What is an Orthodontist?

An orthodontist is a dental specialist who has undergone further university postgraduate training to become an expert in this field. They hold a general dental degree as well as a specialist orthodontic degree. Orthodontists do not practice general dentistry – orthodontics is all they do.

To become an orthodontist, you must first graduate as a dentist following a 5 year dental degree. You must then work a minimum of 3 years in general dentistry prior to applying for a university position to undertake a 3 year full-time orthodontic programme. Only 2 to 4 positions at each university are available every year, which makes entry highly competitive. The degree itself is a combination of both clinical training and research leading to a thesis.

Dr Anna Meyer’s award-winning research thesis was on the effects of extracting teeth on the aesthetics of a smile. This research has since been published in a two-part paper in the world-renowned American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopaedics.

Meet Our Orthodontists

Our Practice

We are a boutique practice and pride ourselves in knowing exactly who you are when you walk through the door. Our orthodontists perform all orthodontic treatment in the mouth personally, rather than delegating these tasks to auxillary staff or assistants.

Orthodontics is an art and a science, and we believe a solo operator hands-on approach, with one person carrying out the treatment, lends itself to achieving the best and most efficient outcome for the patient. We believe that this individual focus at each appointment gives the attention each patient deserves.

We keep up to date with the latest orthodontic research and technology, while also respecting treatment methods which have stood the test of time and academic critique. This means that the treatment our patients receive is based on sound evidence.

 

Latest Orthodontic Technology

We are passionate about the digital and technological advances in orthodontics that enables more precision, efficiency and comfort for our patients while enabling us to retain the traditional artistic aspects of orthodontics to obtain the best aesthetic result possible.

To this end, we have equipped our practice with state-of-the-art digital x-ray technology and 3D digital scanning. 3D digital scanning replaces the traditional method of obtaining impressions (taking moulds and making plaster models) for treatment planning and making appliances. This not only allows for more precise results and patient comfort, but reduces the number of appointments needed to make appliances.

We recognise that ever-advancing technology is no substitute for adherence to the sound clinical orthodontic principles that have stood the test of time. Technology is merely a valuable tool to enable specialist expertise to be individually tailored to each patient.